Northwest UU Justice Network

Virtual Young Adult Involvement Opportunities - UUYACJ

WANTED: HELP CREATING A NEW LOGO!

Calling artists and designers! Check out the UU Young Adults for Climate Justice Graphic Arts & Design Contest! We would love to consider your submission for a new "logo" for the UUYACJ -- and there's also a category for free style designs. Awards range from $25 to $150. Unlimited submissions, no submission fee, some conditions. Deadline: August 17, 11:59pm. See HERE for details.

UUYACJ Book Club

Climate Justice Poetry Reading & Discussion
August 8, 2016 (all are welcome)
5 PM Pacific / 8 PM Eastern
Join the UUYACJ book club in discussing and reading from "No Condition is Permanent, 19 Poets on Climate Justice and Change"
Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/3248332840
Or Telephone:
Dial: +1 408 638 0968 (USA) or +1 647 558 0588 (CANADA)
Meeting ID: 324 833 2840

Join us in reading Active Hope: How to Face the Mess We're in without Going Crazy by Joanna Macy & Chris Johnstone, and digging deeper together into the concepts and practices in the book. All are welcome; requires commitment to attend all four gatherings:

Mondays, Sept. 12, Sept. 26, Oct. 10, Oct. 24
4:30- 6:30pm Pacific // 7:30 - 9:30pm Eastern

RSVP

Community Support & Happenings
Network member Evan Seitz is seeking financial support for efforts to strip lead paint from the most recent UU Community Cooperatives house -- four days left to chip in and about $375 left to go!

Network member Cylis (based in Kalamazoo, MI) is seeking donations to help them buy a computer, which will support their mental health and access to opportunities: link

UUs in Florida are creating a toolkit and outreach program for communities facing rising sea levels, and are looking for help to unlock a matching grant -- 4 more days: link

At least four network members, including myself, will be in New Orleans in late August for "Gulf Interdependence Day - A Call for Justice", plus a Just Transitions Solidarity Summit, and protests of the federal government's leasing of 23 million mineral acres of the Western and Central Gulf of Mexico for oil drilling and fracking. Spreading the word/RSVPs and donations to support these events are greatly appreciated.

Meetings:
Discussing UUYACJ & 100 Worship Services Campaign
August 3, 2016 (open to UUYACJ members only)
1:00 PM Pacific / 4:00 PM Eastern
UUYACJ organizing call to discuss and develop UUYACJ message and plan for the final 40-ish worship services.

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/3248332840
Or Telephone:
Dial: +1 408 638 0968 (USA) or +1 647 558 0588 (CANADA)
Meeting ID: 324 833 2840

Regular Organizing Call (First Thursdays):

September 1, 2016 (open to young adults only)

9 AM Pacific / 12 PM Eastern
Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/3248332840
Or Telephone:
Dial: +1 408 638 0968 (USA) or +1 647 558 0588 (CANADA)
Meeting ID: 324 833 2840




 

Glossary

Citation

Tharp, A., & , Y. (2016). Virtual Young Adult Involvement Opportunities - UUYACJ . Retrieved from http://www.nwuujn.org/view/article/57a0dfbb0cf25f2d92e34b0b

0 Comments

To add a comment, please Log In.